Diversity and Inclusion

Diversity and Inclusion at Reynolds

Reynolds Multicultural Enrichment Award

The annual President’s Award for Multicultural Enrichment is awarded to a full-time or part-time faculty or staff member who demonstrates a high level of enthusiasm and commitment to helping our college and/or community celebrate the richness of different cultures, diversity, and inclusion.  Nominees should demonstrate an exceptional understanding of diversity and inclusiveness beyond the call of duty and shall be evaluated for accomplishments in two or more of the following:

  • Demonstration of emerging or sustained commitment to the values of diversity, inclusion, and multiculturalism through positive communication between persons of different backgrounds and different cultures represented at our college campuses and our community.
  • Striving to create enthusiasm and a positive attitude in others towards celebrating differences in culture 
  • Evidence of exceptional efforts to promote a college environment that is free from bias and discrimination.
  • Conducting activities or events that are designed to enrich multiculturalism, and promote respect, inclusion and diversity at our college and/or in our community. 

Award Announcement: Winner or winners announced during the Annual Employee Recognition and Awards Program held in May.  In addition to the award, the recipient receives a $300.00 cash award.

Selection Committee: Members of the Employee Recognition and Awards Committee.

Nomination Process: Begins in February with an email announcement from our college President, and ends in April. To nominate a faculty or staff member, use the following link: http://www.reynolds.edu/employee_awards/default.aspx

Past Winners Reynolds Multicultural Enrichment Award

 Year Awarded Name Department

2017 Dr. Ghazala F. Hashmi, Academic Affairs, Center for Faculty Engagement
2016 Mazhar K. Anik;  School of Business
2015 Kimberley M. Cossey;  
Student Affairs
2014 Dr. Janet L. Adams;  
School of Mathematics, Science and Engineering
2013 Laurie Weinberg;  
School of Humanities and Social Sciences
2012 Dr. Cynthia De Riemer;  
School of Humanities and Social Sciences
2011 Lily Mirjahangiri;  
Academic Support Centers
2010 Dr. Maria T. Poindexter;  
Human Resources
2009 Hong Wu;  
Library and Information Services
2009 Patricia J. Bozeman;  
Academic Support Centers